:::: MENU ::::

About Journalist's Resource

Twelve institutions participate in Journalist’s Resource, a project of the Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education. The research and development arm of the project is based at the Harvard Kennedy School.

Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy

For all Journalist’s Resource inquiries, contact Denise Ordway.

We’re located at 79 JFK Street, Harvard Kennedy School, Cambridge, MA 20138. Journalist’s Resource is located in Suite 273. Phone: 617-496-9068.

Project team:

Tom Patterson (Shorenstein Center, Martha Stewart)

Thomas E. Patterson, Acting Director, Shorenstein Center; Bradlee Professor of Government and the Press. He is author of the 2013 book Informing the News: The Need for Knowledge-Based Journalism. His earlier book on the media’s political role, Out of Order, received the American Political Science Association’s Graber Award as the best book of the decade in political communication. His book The Vanishing Voter looked at the causes and consequences of electoral participation. Twitter: @tompharvard.

Nancy Palmer (Shorenstein Center, Martha Stewart)

Nancy Palmer, Executive Director, Shorenstein Center. She has administrative responsibility for the daily operations of the Center. Nancy is editor of the book Terrorism, War and the Press. Twitter: @npalmerrothman.

Denise-Marie Ordway

Denise-Marie Ordway, Reporter/Editor. She joined Journalist’s Resource in 2015 after working as a reporter for the Orlando Sentinel and The Philadelphia Inquirer. She has received several national journalism awards and was named as a Pulitzer Prize finalist in 2013. She spent the 2014-15 academic year as a Fellow at Harvard’s Nieman Foundation for Journalism. Email: Denise-Marie_Ordway@hks.harvard.edu. Twitter: @deniseordway.

John Wihbey (Shorenstein Center, Martha Stewart)

John Wihbey, is a consultant to Journalist’s Resource, having served as managing editor and assistant director for the project from 2011 to 2015. He is currently an assistant professor of journalism at Northeastern University. Email: John_Wihbey at hks.harvard.edu; Twitter: @wihbey

Donna Tremonte, Web developer

Justin Feldman, Researcher. He is a doctoral student in social epidemiology at the Harvard School of Public Health.

2014-15 research assistant team:

Pooja Gupta, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Martin Maximino, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Carol Tan, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Devon Maylie, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Farah Qureshi, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Stephanie Knoll, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Natasha Sokol, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Rachael Stephens, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Nan Wu, Shorenstein graduate researcher
Joanna Penn, Shorenstein graduate researcher

Partner schools:

Annenberg School of Journalism
University of Southern California, Los Angeles

College of Communication, University of Texas
Austin, Texas

College of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University
New York, N.Y.

Graduate School of Journalism, University of California
Berkeley, California

Medill School, Northwestern University
Evanston, Illinois

Missouri School of Journalism
University of Missouri, Columbia

Philip Merrill College of Journalism
University of Maryland, College Park

S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications
Syracuse University, Syracuse, New York

UNC School of Journalism and Mass Communication
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

ASU Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Arizona State University, Tempe